How to Fill Your Family and Friends Stockings for the Holiday Season without Breaking the Piggy Bank

charlie brown tree

I see Facebook posts all the time reminding me that Christmas is just around the corner.  Aack!   I don’t know about you, but my budget is so tight I can’t even imagine spending the extra money on gifts and entertaining.  It’s time to buckle down and get creative, so these extra expenses won’t throw me into a credit card spending spree nightmare!

Homemade Crafts;  Do you have a knack for making crafts?  I have tried my hand at a few myself, like tree ornaments made from all those wine corks I have been saving.  There are a lot of cute ideas on Etsy and Pinterest.  Just hit the thrift shops and dollar stores, or even yard sales for inexpensive trinkets and beads and add your own decorative twist on cute, personalized ornaments for your dear friends.

coffee cans

I also have been saving coffee cans, I can cover them with wrapping paper and fill them with my favorite cookie recipes.  This is a great option for co-workers or your favorite merchants.

All those food jars in the lower pantry I have been saving, and can’t find a use for would make great little candy jars.  Just hot glue some decorative felt, beads, ribbon or whatever else inspires my creative juices.

Clearance Racks;  I despise paying full price for anything.  I don’t know about you, but every time I turn around, the prices just seem to be ridiculous.  I certainly can’t see paying $100 for a pair of jeans.  I am always shopping at Outlet Stores and clearance racks for things I need.  I even shop at the local Goodwill.  There are many items that still have tags on them and are name brand items.  I can get creative again here, and make baskets of goodies with the basket I found at Goodwill and fill it with all the fixings for a romantic dinner for two, or even someone’s favorite scented bath treats for the perfect spa experience.

 gift basket

Program Points and Coupons;  There are lots of options out there for program reward points.  Just sign up for that program and you build points; you can then use those points to purchase items at a discount.  For example, my cell phone carrier has a points program.  I can use points to purchase a $25 gift card for $20.  And if you have several gift cards to buy, this can be a substantial savings!  As far as coupons, my favorite site is coupons.com.  They not only have food coupons but retail store ones as well, like Pro Flowers and major department stores.

gift cards

The best part about hand crafting your gifts is that they are personalized for each person you are giving.  I would much rather receive a gift that has that personal touch rather than a big price tag.

I hope these ideas help relieve the upcoming stress of the Holiday Season.  If you have ideas you would like to share please comment.

