DIY Book Nook for those Cold Winter Days

booknook

I don’t like the cold; it’s cold.  You have to bundle up to go outside, and if the wind changes direction it blows cold air on you and it gets really cold.   Did I mention I don’t like the cold?

Because it is so cold outside, I spend most of my time inside; the temperature controlled environment of my home.  Because of my dislike of being cold, this is a good time for me to work on crafts or projects around the house.  One of the projects I am going to work on is making a cozy book nook so I can read my kindle or write my blog in my nice new comfy warm space.

drape

The Space; my first step is going to be finding the right space; an unused closet or corner of a room is usually ideal for this project.  I have an extra bedroom, which I am going to decorate boho chic will be the perfect place for my nook.  This room has extra walls and corners, so for me it is perfect!

chair

A Place to get Comfy; There are so many ideas floating in my head; I can get really detailed or keep it simple.  Since my room is going to be boho shabby, I am going to stick with this theme for my nook. First thing to consider; what am I going to sit on?  I could use a big oversized comfy chair or make my own.  I decided to keep it simple, so I am going to use oversized pillows and cover them with a thick comforter and add smaller pillows to lean against the wall for a back rest.

shelves

 

Other Things;I went to my favorite shopping place-Goodwill, and I found a cute little table to put my lamp on and a cute little wooden box to put books in.  I hung some inspirational wall hangings and draped some old curtains from the ceiling to create a cozy private place to sit and relax.

I put some candles, incense and some pretty Knick knacks for my table.  Now I have a nice hiding place to stay warm and comfy away from the bitter cold outside.  I also have a little heater by the foot of the nook to keep my feeties  warm.

I hope this inspired you to make your own nook, and the best part is you can make it any way you like.  This is YOUR space after all.  Stay warm and happy reading!

