Staying Happy when the World is Against You

 

It’s been almost 6 months since I decided to change my life for the better and believe me it has been a struggle and continues to be every day.

I do have a part time job now which is great!  It pays for my website and social media services and maybe I can get some new socks in a few weeks.  Winter is coming and I managed to escape with one pair of jeans; so it is definitely time to hit the Goodwill and work on my winter wardrobe.  I remember the days of having 3 closets full of clothes like it was yesterday. (Most from thrift stores of course)

life

I do have to say I am so much better off emotionally and spiritually.  I have certainly come a long way in both of these areas.  My outlook on life and people in general has certainly become more positive.  Yes, there are monsters out there and they look just like people; but as long as I can identify them and stay the heck away, life will be just fine.

One of the greatest lessons I have learned is letting go of material possessions and the mindset that material belongings is what gauges success.  It doesn’t.  You can’t take this stuff with you.  The big house and big car, in my opinion, only add that much more stress and unhappiness in a person’s life.

hot sun

It is definitely a struggle.   I have learned to love triple decker PB &J’s and eat lots of cereal bars, and my occasional treat at Taco Bell for the $5 Box.   Since I still live with family members, I try not to burden their budget.  And my poor pooches!  They are starting to look like homeless creatures.  No frequent trips to the groomers for this family!  My long haired poochiweenie growls at me when I even come near her with the scissors to trim the fur clumps under her belly.

heart sand

Even though I have grown so much I do have days or even weeks where I just feel overwhelmed.  I just want to stay in bed and since I don’t have much money, it is sometimes difficult to keep the mind busy.  There is only so much Netflix, reading, meditating or social networking a person can do.  This is certainly the case recently.  I don’t know if you noticed, but I haven’t blogged in a while. I have been in a very low frame of mind.    As much as I have grown, peace and love doesn’t pay the rent.  This world still runs on the almighty dollar.  It is a constant struggle to balance what my heart wants to do and what I have to do to survive.

Believe me when I say I don’t want much, just a little place to call my own, maybe one of those cute tiny houses or a camper trailer will do.  Some running water and electricity and definitely my own kitchen so I can cook my fantastic meals that I miss greatly.  Enough room for my little doggies to run around, some space for my kids and my special friend.

So what does one do to keep on keepin on?  How do you deal with the day to day survival until it’s time to go back to work again or your kids finally come see you?

Inspire me

I am reminded of all the inspirational quotes that are out there on social media right now.  There are quotes for whatever spiritual path any person is on.   Those daily positive mantras really make a difference.  I am a firm believer the more you talk positive to yourself the more you believe; and eventually your brain re- wires itself to more positive thoughts.

You know what also helps?  Getting out of bed and contacting that friend you have been meaning to talk to for weeks (or in my case, months).  We need human contact whether we like it or not.  I really get inspired when I hear that someone asking why I haven’t blogged in a while, or that they even like what I have written.  It’s just the kick in the ass I need to get inspired once more.  I would even take a stab at why social media has become so successful.

I don’t know if this segment is just a bunch of rambling or I have come to some conclusion.  If I didn’t then maybe I will next time.

Thank you for reading my stuff, and please like, comment or share.

 

