The Land of Opportunity and Hope?

 

I was walking to the dollar store this morning to get some vitamins and cold/flu medicine to try to conquer this virus before it gets the best of me.  While I was there, I picked up some dollar soups and snacks to supplement my meals that my family provides for me.

drive-in

As I was walking back, I saw a sign that Taco Bell is hiring, so I grabbed an application.  Then it hit me.  Here I am, a college graduate, nearing 50 and I am applying at a fast food restaurant?  So I can supplement my other part time job, so that maybe I can make enough money to afford a low income apartment with my son and maybe between the two of us we can make it work?

How about the 24 year old that just graduated from college and has $30,000 in student loans to pay for her Bachelor’s Degree, with hopes of landing a job to pay for her independence.  She can only find temp jobs or jobs that require 50 hours a week and if she can hit sales, will make enough commission to make rent and car insurance.  And hopefully have some left over for groceries.

Or the 30 year old that served honorably in the Navy.  Trying to recover from a marriage gone bad and can only find mechanic or steel fabrication jobs for barely above minimum wage.  And 60% of that salary goes toward his growing daughter for child support.

Last week when it snowed, and it was barely 20 degrees outside there was a homeless man trying to seek shelter under a bridge to block the bone chilling wind because the homeless shelters are completely full and have no choice but to turn people away.  I can only imagine what this poor man’s story is.

tenement

Where is the opportunity and hope?

Don’t get me wrong.  I am no stranger to working hard to make ends meet.  In my days, I raised my flock and worked my full time job to pay for groceries and necessities for my babies.  And like I have mentioned before; I am not uneducated. And I certainly don’t wish to tax the ever stretched out economy any further than it already is.  I want to make my own way.  I want my independence!

I remember 6 months ago when I left my bad situation, I was absolutely positive I would be back on my feet in no time. I have the know-how and skills to land a good job and I am the budgeting queen!

Here it is 6 months later, I have a weekend job that buys a few groceries and covers my necessary bills.

brooklyn

Where is my break?  Where are all of these other people that are in the same situation, or better yet, in worse situations than me, where is their break???

When does it end and how do we fix it?

 

One Comment

Comments are closed.