Fears and Expectations

Forgiveness is the economy of the heart… forgiveness saves the expense of anger, the cost of hatred, the waste of spirits.

Hannah More

 

As my landmark birthday rapidly approaches, I find myself pondering the experiences I have undertaken just in the past year.

About this time last year; I was fatally dancing with sadness and believing my life was at its peak.  It wasn’t going to get any better than this.  I knew I was just dealt a really bad hand and I was lucky to be taken care of as bad as it was.

Then, I got brave and smart.  You know how that story goes; I have recited it many times and it was only the beginning of the rest of my life…….

I have seen things that I thought only belonged in dreams.  I’ve heard, smelled, tasted and felt pure happiness.  I dance in the rain and sing in the wild like there isn’t a care in the world.  I can genuinely smile, and love and no amount of badness can stop me!

As I have learned on this journey, there has to be two sides to everything.  If there is a black, then there is a white.  A left then a right.  A front and a back.  Happiness then there has to be sadness.

fear

But, the sadness is off balance.

I see more and more, people build these bubbles around them.  Sometimes it starts off as a child; they don’t receive the foundation of love and security and nurturing, and boundaries and lessons. Learning what is right and wrong.  What hurts and what doesn’t.  As they grow older, they learn a bad lesson, not to trust others- only rely on themselves.  And their bubble gets bigger and bigger to protect the fragile being inside.

We all have a little of this bubble around us.

expectation

My bubble was massive

As I sing and dance and smile along on my wonderful journey, a stone is randomly put in my path and I trip and fall down really hard (because my head is in the clouds and I’m not paying attention to where I am headed.)

I have fallen many times before.  I get angry and shake my fists at the universe wondering why I get knocked off my kiester yet again.  Haven’t I learned enough yet?  Apparently no.

Fears and expectations.

The lesson for me this time as I circle back around and work another layer of that proverbial bubble; is fear and expectation.  This is a toughie.  You see, I still have expectations of how things should be or how people interact.  I still feel like I need to be in control of everything.  But, as you see the words on this page it doesn’t make very much sense.  How can I possibly be in control?  I am but a tiny spec in this massive universe.  There are much bigger beings floating around taking care of things I can’t even possibly see or even fathom it is happening.  I am only a servant.  I have to learn to let go, trust, and have faith.  I only have the power to control me.  My behavior, my actions, my reactions, my acceptance.

him

Once I realized I cannot control, or expect a specific result or action; the weight just lifted off my heart.  I then started changing my thinking pattern to what I can control and that is whether I want to learn and grow from these lessons and go back to dancing and singing in the rain.

Fear is the same way.  Usually, a fear stems from the unknown.  My mind goes into overdrive, and

I start creating worse case scenarios that may or may not happen.  If I stop and pin point what exactly it is that is scaring me,

I can break it down into more manageable pieces, and chances are, it is my reaction that causes the particular scary outcome.

I feel like this is another one of my rambling stories with no conclusion, so I will try to make one up….

When you are feeling an emotion that you are expecting a particular outcome, when that power belongs to someone else; stop and think and look at it from your shoes.  What can you do to change the outcome?

Thank you for reading and if you have thoughts please feel free to share.

