Coincidence?  Or Serendipity

 

 

Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, ambition inspired, and success achieved.

 Helen Keller

tears

 

Life is full of ups and downs, good opportunities and sometimes not so good opportunities.  I believe in trying to make the best of every situation, learn from my mistakes and take those lessons and try to apply it in my life somehow and sometimes reach out to others in hopes to inspire them to better themselves or at least take a deeper look inside their soul.

 

As you know, I never meet a stranger.  When I was working my real job (giggles) a few weeks ago, another employee was having a rough day.  It also happened to be her birthday, and like my birthday, hers was forgotten too.  I knew exactly how she felt.  I reached out to her and we immediately became friends.   Without losing her anonymity, I won’t give out any more information, but she reached out to me and wanted me to share this inspiring story with the hope of  touching another life that is struggling with demons of their own.

The following are her words.

addiction

 

I am a recovering methamphetamine addict. Clean 5 years now.   I stay away from people or situations that could cause me to interact with addiction type lifestyles for my own sobriety.

This weekend I was sitting in my patio when a young guy was walking by below, He hollered up at me asking for a cigarette, I obliged, of course. I had my grandson here & my boyfriend left shortly after. About 30 minutes later the young man came to my door asking if he could use the phone to call a ride on up out  of here he says.

I measure him up real quick & gather than he’s been actively using & has reached a point of regret. I came to the conclusion that he was harmless as he was too focused on being upset with himself so, I let him in.

He uses the phone & starts taking to me about his situation, fishing for approval for his decisions but not really saying why he was away from his girl & his kids.  I just listen.   After a bit he was seriously needing some sign if approval, as he’s unsure if himself at this point.  I didn’t share anything with him about me or my recovery journey & nothing about his actual actions was mentioned.

I just looked at him & said, “I can see you’re struggling with your choices.”   He says yeah…

I said “well no judgment here & you don’t have to tell my why; I’ll just say your face is a bit thin & your heart is heavy.”  He says,” I think you know more than you’re letting on.  It’s like you’ve been where I am at.”

About that time his ride arrived. I told him that with age comes experience. He asked what have I learned. I told him that I learned my actions were my own & so were the consequences that come with my actions.   And what my children saw when they were young molded them into their perceived life now.

I felt like God put that kid in my house.

I just hope he does better with himself, I hope my words helped.

 

face

I believe nothing happens by chance.  I believe Spirit put that young man in front of her so they can inspire each other and pay it forward to touch someone else that might need it so desperately.

 

We all have our crosses to bear and our demons to fight.   When we are at our lowest of lows, remember, our Guardian Angels are always with us and they are wrapping their loving wings around us and protecting us.

If this inspires you or if you know someone that can use some inspiration, please share.

Thank you.

pretty

