June 1937-It’s all About Perspective

 

 

 

 Amelia Earhart Disappeared

  • Amelia Mary Earhart mysteriously disappeared over the Pacific Ocean during a circumnavigation flight

More Information and Timeline For Amelia Mary Earhart
1. Amelia Mary Earhart started her career during World War I as a nurses aid in Toronto, Canada looking after wounded soldiers ( Mostly as a Cook )
2. 1920 after saving by working multiple jobs including photographer, truck driver, and stenographer she saved the $1,000 needed to take flying lessons
3. 1923, Amelia Earhart became the 16th woman to be issued a pilot’s license
4. 1928, Earhart became the first woman to fly solo across the North American continent and back
5. 1932 she became the the first woman to fly solo non-stop across the Atlantic
6. 1937 On June 1st Amelia Earhart and her flight navigator Fred Noonan take off from Miami attempting a round-the-world flight.

ritz

Average Cost of Living 1937

Average Cost of new house $4,100.00
Average wages per year $1,780.00
Cost of a gallon of Gas 10 cents
Average Cost for house rent $26.00 per month
A loaf of Bread 9 cents
A LB of Hamburger Meat 12 cents
Average Price for new car $760.00
Toothpaste 35 cents
Couple of examples of houses advertised for sale
Port Authur, Texas — 5 room Cottage home and bath in town center $2,250
Mansfield, Ohio —- Colonial Brick Home 6 modern rooms and bath with open fireplace in living room $6,000

 

bus

June, 2017

 

I am sitting on my bed/couch eating some french fries and leftover pizza for breakfast, as my furbabies wait patiently for a bite.  It’s a little overcast outside.  Some commotion from the building across the courtyard.  A day to keep the windows drawn.

I do have more flexibility now that I am within the bus system, just have to learn my way around! The other day  I decided to take the bus to the Post Office to get a key for our mail box.   I checked on my IPhone for the best route, and there were 3 choices.

I picked the wrong one.

As you know, I know no stranger, so I struck up a conversation with a fellow sitting in the row in front of me.  We talked and talked.  Before I knew it, I had turned a 25 minute ride to an over 2 hour ride! I was completely on the wrong side of town!

The bus driver, ever so helpfully, stopped the bus going the other way, so I could head back to my actual destination.  Of course, I forgot snacks and drinks.  Three bus changes later, I found the Post Office, in the middle of some traffic lights and grassy fields. A Temple on the dead end street, with housing.  A sacred space I am sure.

bunny bus

No fast food, no quickie marts.  By this time, I was hot, hungry, thirsty and exhausted.  I just wanted to go home. Four hours was long enough for this excursion.   After waiting 20 minutes to hop on a bus to go 5 minutes, so I can get on another bus to go to the exchange, then the final bus to my humble residence!

I think I will take up smoking!

It’s all about perspective, right?   Just imagine how much money I am saving in car expenses by using the Public Transportation System.  Just $3.50 a day, gets me anywhere the bus will take me.

 

I am going to get started on one of my favorite cupboard cooking recipes now and as always, Hugs and Hope

DTC

 

CC mac

 

 

 

Info on Amelia Earhart and Average Cost of Living

http://www.thepeoplehistory.com/1937

