The Apartments

 

I haven’t had to live like this since I was a child- a very humbling experience.

 

I still don’t have a key to the laundry facilities yet, so I am washing my clothes in the tub and drying them on the outside railing.  Everyone in the building knows what color towels I have now.

laundry

Still waiting for my Food Benefits, good thing I have some ol’ standbys in the cupboard.

 

Sadness and Hunger fill the air today at the Apartments, even the pooches can sense it.  I long to use my last $3.50 bus fare, at least there is hope on the bus.

new beginning

I am trying to keep my space positive, but the darkness keeps seeping in.

 

It is quiet for the most part here, just don’t take the furbabies out after 9 PM.

Across the courtyard is the 4 bedroom apartments, there are two families that live there.  One downstairs and one upstairs.  There is an empty apartment on the bottom floor, but I don’t dare go near it, it gives me the heebie-jeebies.

Still don’t have all of my stuff yet ; feels like I am staying in a seedy motel.  Without the rest of my few things I own, I can’t quite find home. …..

My son is working two jobs.  I can’t get enough events lined up.  Being in the hospital, knocked me off my horse.  Having a hard time getting back on.

 

My side of the courtyard are the one bedrooms.  Mostly rented by single men except for mine and another lady that I would assume works in a hospital, wearing scrubs as her attire.   I hear her children, but have never seen them.

As for the rest, the man that collects appliances from the dumpster, the handicapped man and his caretaker and the one that lives below me, works during the day.

My daughter can’t seem to find her way either, such a heavy burden for a mom to carry.

sad elf

We are adjusting.  The furbabies have literally been on a tight leash, but I do play ball and we yoga every day.  The kids love to get them barking at night.  I’m sure they think it’s fun.

walking dogs

 

Maybe tomorrow my food benefits will come and I can use my bus pass to go grocery shopping and find a conversation.   Until then, I will warm up some leftover soup.

Hugs and Hope

DTC

 

