The Envelope System

 

 

I had really forgotten how to budget.  I haven’t had to do it in 7 years.  Not really. 

accounting

I have always prided myself in being the Spreadsheet Queen.  Every penny went on the budget.  You have to; otherwise it can slip away at the drop of a bad spending decision.  I have managed to get myself in quite the credit card pickle.

A good way to drown out a person’s true emotions.

sec 3

I have always managed to take a negative situation and learn from it.  So, when I got credit happy again and lost my job in 2008, I really had to look long and hard to make it.  When I did finally get a job ( I was at the end of my rope, of course) I made just enough to pay the bills and live on $40 a week.  With a teenage daughter in tow

 

 

So, here I am again.  My checking account is overdrawn and my work hours have been cut way back to one or two days in a pay period.  Not exactly survival money.  I know, I needed some time to get better, but this stubborn redhead can’t stay down for very long.   I think a good word to describe me would be tenacious.

laundry cute

 

I’m doing laundry in the tub and making Scooby snacks for the pooches with granola bars.  I am sure there might be too much sugar, but, you gotta do what you gotta do.

My wonderful son gave me some allowance, so I can purchase things I need.  It reminded me of re teaching oneself discipline with money.  The envelope system.

You take envelopes and divide up your cash for bills and necessities.  Mine are bus tickets, furbaby supplies, misc. and for a rainy day.

This works so well, it helps to actually see where your cash is going and helps to start thinking of ways to cut back on things you don’t really need.  The basics of budgeting.

wash

I finally stepped up to the Laundromat.  I used the suitcase with wheels and handle to take my favorite bus.   Makes it so much easier to maneuver; when I go grocery shopping next time, I am taking my bonnet with wheels.

 

Hugs and Hope

Diane

 

gmas spaghetti

Leave a Reply

