Freezing Veggies

 

 

I remember as a child, my mom working to the bone, and still sparsely any food in the cupboard. 

There was this one summer in particular; we somehow ended up with lots of garden fresh veggies and fruit of all sorts.   A friendly neighbor helping an overworked mom, I am sure.

baby cooking

Mom and I spent the entire weekend, canning and freezing these lovely treats that were given to us so generously.

 

bus groceries

When I finally got to go grocery shopping; I told myself to just get a few things since I was taking the bus.  Unfortunately, I don’t listen very well and ended up with a half a basket full of deals and edible treats!

I bagged and doubled bagged the best I could and proceeded to put my arms through the handles, and in the process, a gentleman asked if I had it okay.  Being of Scotch-Irish and Welsh decent, nothing can stop this tenacious redhead and I continued with my 12 bags of groceries down the walk to the bus stop.

I set my bags down, and asked others to double-check as I didn’t want to board the wrong bus.  A nice girl helped me get my groceries onto the bus so I could swipe my boarding pass and sat with my loot wondering how I was going to reload.  I still had to change vehicles when I got to the East Side Exchange Station.

bus2

I managed to resort my stash and managed to change buses when it was time.  When I finally made it to my stop, the bus driver lowered the bus so I could step off easier.

I muddled across the busy thoroughfare to my building.  I stared at the stairs and thought better of trying.  I set everything down and carried 3 at a time into my apartment with two anxiously awaiting fur pups that were very excited to see me.  Only smashing one loaf of bread and one egg in the dozen.

Since I got carried away with buying fresh veggies from the produce isle and no way could I eat all of these treats by myself; I remembered when my mom and I bagged and froze our dispensations.

I spent my morning dicing and bagging veggies for various recipe starters and meals.

A tidbit of history-freezing food was introduced back in the 1930’s by a man named Clarence Birdseye.

There are many sites on the web that have lots of good info on freezing guidelines.  Here is one example that I used.

hooch

BTW, my first batch of Hooch came out yummy!

Hugs and Hope

Diane

dtc recipe 7

